The Museum

Harlem in Montmartre

Paris made it possible for MISTINGUETT and MAURICE CHEVALIER to revolutionize the world of the music hall, and also, more surprisingly, for a Black American artist, the "Ebony Venus" Josephine BAKER, to win fame the world over as the first international black star, and activist.

After the Great War, many neighborhoods in the city of light were simply bursting with creativity and incredible boldness. All social classes danced away to Jazz, Ragtime, and the Foxtrot, then the Charleston, imported by African-American soldiers. For a Europe now at peace, this music was the sound of the freedom to which it aspired.

This project is born out of our desire to pay homage to this fascinating and timeless chapter of history, and to remember those who helped write it. Our aim is to collate public and private archives, to remember together an artistic movement that was, quite simply, unique. This shared moment was, and will always remain for us all, a wonderful example of liberty, fraternity, and creativity.

We want you to enjoy this place and what we are trying to do. We want this museum to be fun, inspiring, and educational for every generation.

The Harlem hellfighters

RETRACING AN INCREDIBLE HISTORY

Nicknamed the "Harlem Hellfighters" by enemies surprised by their bravery, the 369th Infantry Regiment was made up entirely of African-American and Puerto Rican soldiers. Disparaged in their homeland of the United States, they were the first American soldiers to be decorated with France's Croix de Guerre (War Cross) medal for their numerous successful campaigns. And their success wasn't only just on the battle field, but also on the musical front, lighting up concerts and parades with the sound of jazz, especially when James Reese Europe was in charge.


Explore the museum

They Support US

Le Musée

Harlem in Montmartre

Paris a permis à MISTINGUETT et à MAURICE CHEVALIER de révolutionner le monde du music-hall, mais aussi, plus surprenant, à une artiste noire américaine, "La vénus d'ébène" Joséphine BAKER, de rayonner à travers le monde comme la première star noire internationale et engagée.

Après la Grande Guerre, de nombreux quartiers de la ville lumière bouillonnaient d’une créativité et d’une insolence hors du commun. Le Jazz, le Ragtime, le Foxtrot puis le charleston, amenés par les soldats afro-américains se dansaient dans toutes les classes sociales de la société. A travers ces musiques résonnait la liberté à laquelle l’Europe enfin apaisée aspirait.

Afin de retracer et de rendre hommage à cette histoire passionnante et intemporelle, de se remémorer tous ces acteurs exceptionnels, nous avons fondé ce projet, ce site. Notre but est de réunir les archives publiques ou privées, de se souvenir ensemble de ce mouvement artistique unique au monde. Ce moment de partage qui fut et restera pour nous tous un exemple de fraternité, de créativité et de liberté.

Notre démarche et ce lieu se veulent ludique, inspirant et pédagogique pour toutes les générations.

Les Harlem hellfighters

UNE HISTOIRE EXCEPTIONNELLE À RETRACER

Surnommés « Harlem Hellfighters » par les ennemis surpris par leur courage, le 369e régiment d’infanterie est composé exclusivement de soldats afro-américains et portoricains. Décrédibilisés dans leur pays d’origine, les États-Unis d’Amérique, ils seront les premiers soldats américains à être décorés de la Croix de guerre française grâce à de multiples succès. Ces succès ne seront pas uniquement militaires, mais également musicaux, lors de concerts et de défilés aux sons des airs de Jazz, avec, notamment, la direction de James Reese Europe.


Explorer le musée

Ils soutiennent notre démarche